Honda Grand Prix of Alabama Race Report

Circuit: Barber Motorsports Park (2.3-mile road course) Birmingham, AL
2011 Winner: Will Power (Team Penske Honda) 92.194 mph average
Weather: Mostly sunny, warm, 82 degrees F

Fn. St. Driver Team Driver Laps Average Speed/Notes
1. 9. Will Power Team Penske Chevrolet Dallara 90 102.081 mph avg.; led 22 laps
2. 3. Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara 90 -3.3709 seconds; led 38 laps
3. 1. Helio Castroneves Team Penske Chevrolet Dallara 90 -19.1150 seconds; led 28 laps
4. 8. Graham Rahal Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara 90 -19.3395 seconds; led 1 lap
5. 10. Simon Pagenaud-R Schmidt Hamilton Racing Honda Dallara 90 -20.1050 seconds
6. 2. James Hinchcliffe Andretti Autosport Chevrolet Dallara 90 -23.3039 seconds; led 1 lap
7. 4. Mike Conway A.J. Foyt Racing Honda Dallara 90 -24.5552 seconds
8. 14. Rubens Barrichello KV Racing Technology Chevrolet Dallara 90 -25.4023 seconds
9. 17. Sebastien Bourdais Lotus Dragon Racing Lotus Dallara 90 -27.1815 seconds
10. 18. Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara 90 -32.7377 seconds
Other Honda-Powered Results:
16 20. James Jakes Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara 90 -54.5343 seconds
17. 15. Josef Newgarden-R Sarah Fisher Hartman Honda Dallara 90 -60.6180 seconds
19. 17. Justin Wilson Dale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara 89 Running
22. 15. Takuma Sato Rahal Letterman Lanigan Honda Dallara 52 Did not finish - mechanical
23. 22. Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara 45 Did not finish - mechanical
R - IndyCar Series Rookie

Dixon Runs Second at Barber Motorsports Park

Having his best season start since his first IZOD IndyCar Series championship in 2003, Scott Dixon finished second Sunday at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama. It was the second consecutive podium finish for the Honda-powered Target Chip Ganassi Racing driver, following on the heels of his runner-up result last weekend at the season-opening Honda Grand Prix of St. Petersburg.

Starting on the inside of the second row, in third, Dixon moved into the lead following the first round of scheduled pit stops, then controlled the middle third of the race, while many fierce battles for position raged behind him. But Dixon's lead disappeared on lap 65, when he was delayed by slower cars while entering and leaving the pits for his final stop, handing the lead to eventual winner Will Power.

Prior to the start of today's 90-lap contest, Tom Ogata from San Francisco, California, received the ride of his life - as passenger in the Honda two-seat IndyCar driven by former Indianapolis 500 winner Arie Luyendyk - during the pace laps just prior to the green flag. Ogata won his ride by entering Honda's "Fastest Seat in Sports" contest at

Taking the checkers just over three seconds behind Power, Dixon still closed to within two points of early-season drivers' championship leader Helio Castroneves, and was the first of three Honda-powered drivers in the top five.

Graham Rahal had his first top-five finish of 2012, and came close to his first podium finish of the year, as he hounded eventual third-place finisher Castroneves for the final 15 laps.

Simon Pagenaud also improved on his sixth-place finish last week in St. Petersburg, climbing through the field in his Schmidt Hamilton Racing Honda Dallara, from 10th at the start to fifth at the checkers. Mike Conway recovered from a minor "off" just after the final race restart on Lap 74 to finish seventh for A.J. Foyt Racing; while a last-lap pass of Marco Andretti saw three-time defending series champion Dario Franchitti round out the top-10 finishers for Honda today.

After back-to-back races in the Southeast to open the 2012 season, the IZOD IndyCar Series now goes cross-country, continuing in two weeks with the April 15 Grand Prix of Long Beach in Southern California.

IZOD IndyCar Series Drivers' Championship (after 2 of 16 races):
1. Helio Castroneves 86 points (1 win) 6. Ryan Hunter-Reay 53
2. Scott Dixon 84 7. Graham Rahal 50
3. Will Power 77 (1 win) 8. Ryan Briscoe 46
4. James Hinchcliffe 60 9. Mike Conway 38
5. Simon Pagenaud 58 10. Rubens Barrichello 37
Manufacturers' Championship: Rookie of the Year:
1. Chevrolet 18 1. Simon Pagenaud 58
2. Honda 12 2. Josef Newgarden 32
3. Lotus 8 3. Katherine Legge 24

Scott Dixon (#9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) started 3rd, finished 2nd: "I'm feeling a bit angry at the moment, but I guess it's a good thing if you're unhappy about finishing second! But this was our race to lose and somehow we managed to lose it. Coming in for my final pit stop, I was held up by a slower car on my 'in' lap and then by another lapped car after leaving the pits. I guess that was all Will [Power] needed."

Graham Rahal (#38 Service Central Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) started 8th, finished 4th: "I gave [Helio Castroneves] a run, but the rules allow you to make a defensive move and that's exactly what he did. I would have done the exact same thing had the situation been reversed. I tried him probably five times in all, but just couldn't make it happen."

Simon Pagenaud (#77 Schmidt Hamilton Racing Honda) started 10th, finished 5th: "After starting 10th, this was a good recovery for us. We had a really good car today; I think in the closing laps we had the fastest car out there. This was a really fun race, with lots of passing, and a great crowd. It made the day very enjoyable for us, and I hope for the fans as well."

Marc Sours (General Manager, Honda Performance Development) on today's race: "What a great race! I think there may have been more action and passing this afternoon than in all previous IndyCar races here at Barber. Certainly, the introduction of new cars and the return of manufacturer competition to IndyCar racing has added a sense of anticipation to each green flag. This is a spectacular venue, and the huge crowd on hand seems to enjoy the spectacle. Congratulations to Scott Dixon on an excellent start to his 2012 season and to all our drivers and teams. We had three Hondas finishing in the top five today, and look for even better things to come in the races ahead. We're interested in examining the engines from the cars of Takuma Sato and Charlie Kimball, to determine the exact nature of their issues. Constant improvement is one of the goals of our racing program."



©2018 American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions