Honda Racing Report - Opening Day Practice Report - Indianapolis 500


Circuit: Indianapolis Motor Speedway (2.5-mile oval) Speedway, IN
2011 Winner:Dan Wheldon (Bryan Herta Autosport Honda) 170.265 mph average
Weather:Partly cloudy, mild, 74 degrees F

Indianapolis 500 Opening Day Top-10 Practice Results:

Ps. Driver Team Engine/Chassis Best Lap Speed/Notes
1.Josef Newgarden-RSarah Fisher HartmanHonda Dallara220.250 mph
2.JR HildebrandPanther RacingChevrolet Dallara219.693
3.Bryan Clauson-RSarah Fisher HartmanHonda Dallara219.632
4.James Jakes-RDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara218.286
5.Tony KanaanKV Racing TechnologyChevrolet Dallara217.741
6.Charlie KimballChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara217.699
7.Helio Castroneves-WTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara217.617
8.Simon Pagenaud-RSchmidt Hamilton RacingHonda Dallara217.483
9.Justin WilsonDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara217.429
10.Scott Dixon-WTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara217.244
Additional Honda-Powered Results:
12.Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganHonda Dallara217.180
13.Graham RahalChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara217.047
18.Dario Franchitti-WTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara215.896
19.Alex TaglianiBryan Herta AutosportHonda Dallara215.344
21.Michele JourdainRahal Letterman LaniganHonda Dallara214.871
23.Mike ConwayA.J. Foyt RacingHonda Dallara214.152
Townsend BellSchmidt Hamilton RacingHonda Dallarano speed/did not run
Wade CunninghamA.J. Foyt RacingHonda Dallarano speed/did not run

W - Previous 500 Winner

R - IndyCar Series Rookie

Rookie Newgarden Leads Opening Day at Indianapolis

The next generation of IZOD IndyCar Series starts claimed the spotlight Saturday at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, led by Honda-powered rookie Josef Newgarden, who claimed overall honors at Opening Day practice for the 96th running of the Indianapolis 500.

Nashville native Newgarden was the 2011 Indy Lights series champion, and moved up to IndyCars this year with Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing, the team that also led the Indy Opening Day speed charts last year with Ed Carpenter.

Newgarden was followed on the time sheets by second-year IndyCar driver JR Hildebrand; rookie and USAC star Bryan Clauson in the second Sarah Fisher entry; and Honda-powered "500" rookie James Jakes, driving for Dale Coyne Racing. Veteran Tony Kanaan rounded out the top five in today's practice.

In all, Honda-powered drivers and teams claimed three of top four speeds today, and seven of the top 10. Thirteen of the 15 drivers expected to run with Honda power took to the track today. Practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway continues through Friday, with Pole Day qualifying on Saturday, May 19.

Josef Newgarden (#67 Sarah Fisher Racing Honda) fastest in practice: "It's pretty cool. I think today was a good day for the series. The car felt pretty good, too, better than I expected it to be in traffic, and the speeds are only going to get better as practice continues this week. I'm already looking forward to qualifying for my first '500'."



©2018 American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions