Honda Racing Report - Practice Report - Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix


Circuit: Belle Isle Park (2.07-mile street circuit) Detroit, MI
2008 Winner:Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Racing Honda) 89.911 mph average [most recent event]
Weather:Morning rain, cool, damp, 57-degrees F

Top-10 Practice Results

Ps. Driver Team Engine/Chassis Best Time Best Speed
1.Will PowerTeam Penske Chevrolet Dallara1:12.8355102.313 mph
2.Justin WilsonDale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara1:12.9343102.174
3.Ryan BriscoeTeam Penske Chevrolet Dallara1:13.1176101.918
4.Simon Pagenaud-RSam Schmidt MotorsportsHonda Dallara1:13.1195101.915
5.Tony KanaanKV Racing Technology Chevrolet Dallara1:13.3012101.663
6.Scott DixonTarget Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara1:13.3087101.652
7.James HinchcliffeAndretti Autosport Chevrolet Dallara1:13.5110101.373
8.Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti Autosport Chevrolet Dallara1:13.5912101.262
9.Helio CastronevesTeam Penske Chevrolet Dallara1:13.8536100.902
10.Oriol ServiaDRR Panther Racing Chevrolet Dallara1:13.9032100.835
Additional Honda-Powered Results:
11.Mike ConwayA.J. Foyt Racing Honda Dallara1:13.9673100.747
12.Dario FranchittiTarget Chip Ganassi Honda Dallara1:14.0573100.625
13.Graham RahalChip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara1:14.1132100.549
16.Josef Newgarden-RSarah Fisher Hartman Honda Dallara1:14.3223100.266
20.Charlie KimballChip Ganassi Racing Honda Dallara1:15.078899.256
21.James JakesDale Coyne Racing Honda Dallara1:15.247699.033
22.Takuma SatoRahal Letterman Lanigan Honda Dallara1:15.905898.174
23.Alex TaglianiBryan Herta Autosport Honda Dallara1:16.418497.516

R - IndyCar Series Rookie

Wilson Looks for Detroit Replay

After a three-year absence, the IZOD IndyCar Series returned to the streets of Belle Isle Park Friday as 2008 race winner Justin Wilson led the Honda-powered field in opening practice for Sunday's Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix.

In 2008, the most recent IndyCar race on the temporary park circuit, Wilson led the final 15 laps in his Newman Haas Racing Honda Dallara to win by 4.4 seconds over Helio Castroneves. It was the final IndyCar triumph for team co-owner Paul Newman, who succumbed to cancer later that year.

Wilson posted the second-fastest time in practice today, just one-tenth of a second off the fastest time, recorded by Team Penske's Will Power. Series rookie Simon Pagenaud was third quickest in his Schmidt Hamilton Racing Honda, while Target Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon rounded out the top six. Sunday's 90-lap race starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Justin Wilson (#18 Dale Coyne Racing Honda) 2nd quickest in Friday practice: "There's no margin for error in the IndyCar Series today, just lots and lots of very hard work. There are many good drivers and competitive teams; one small mistake and your 'P20' instead of 'P1'. But having said that, this circuit is a lot of fun, and we appear to have a pretty good car. Hopefully, on Sunday, we can do exactly what we did here last time."



©2018 American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions