Honda Racing Report - Qualifying Report - Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix


Circuit: Belle Isle Park (2.07-mile street circuit) Detroit, MI
2008 Winner: Justin Wilson (Newman Haas Racing Honda) 89.911 mph average [most recent event]
Weather: Mostly clear, cool, 57-degrees F

Top-12 Qualifying Results:

Ps. Driver Team Engine/Chassis Best Time Notes
1.Scott DixonTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara1:10.3162Fast Six Shootout
2.Will PowerTeam Penske Chevrolet Dallara1:10.3206Fast Six Shootout
3.Alex TaglianiBryan Herta AutosportHonda Dallara1:10.6684Fast Six Shootout
4.Simon Pagenaud-RSam Schmidt MotorsportsHonda Dallara1:10.8426Fast Six Shootout
5.E.J. VisoKV RacingChevrolet Dallara1:11.0852Fast Six Shootout
6.Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportChevrolet Dallara1:11.4557Fast Six Shootout
7.Graham RahalChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara1:10.94342nd Round Qualifying
8.Ryan BriscoeTeam Penske Chevrolet Dallara1:10.99642nd Round Qualifying
9.Helio CastronevesTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara1:11.00762nd Round Qualifying
10.Sebastien BourdaisDragon RacingChevrolet Dallara1:11.16242nd Round Qualifying
11.Justin WilsonDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara1:11.33762nd Round Qualifying
12.Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganHonda Dallara1:11.81222nd Round Qualifying
Other Honda-Powered Qualifiers:
13.Josef Newgarden-RSarah Fisher Hartman Honda Dallara1:12.10681st Round, Group 1
15.Dario FranchittiTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara1:12.32761st Round, Group 1
16.Mike ConwayA.J. Foyt RacingHonda Dallara1:11.65211st Round, Group 2
21.Charlie KimballChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara1:12.58441st Round, Group 1
25.James JakesDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara1:12.84691st Round, Group 2

R - IndyCar Series Rookie

Dixon Delivers Detroit Pole

Scott Dixon edged Will Power by just over four-thousandths of a second in IZOD IndyCar Series qualifying Saturday at Belle Isle Park to claim the pole for Sunday's Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix. It is Dixon's first pole of the 2012 season, breaking a string of poles by Team Penske drivers, and the first pole for Honda with the return of manufacturer competition to the IZOD IndyCar Series this year. Dixon also qualified on the Detroit pole in 2008, the last race on the temporary Belle Isle circuit prior to this year's event.

Honda-powered drivers claimed three of the top four starting positions for Sunday's race, with Alex Tagliani third-fastest, his best qualifying run of 2012 in only his second race with Honda for Bryan Herta Autosport. Simon Pagenaud equaled his previous best starting position of 2012 and will start fourth for Schmidt Hamilton Racing.

Graham Rahal just missed advancing to "Fast Six" final qualifying, coming up hundredths of a second short, and will start seventh. Justin Wilson, winner of the most recent IndyCar Series race in Detroit in 2008, qualified 11th; with Indianapolis 500 star Takuma Sato rounding out the top 12 qualifiers. Reigning Indianapolis 500 champion Dario Franchitti will start 15th. Sunday's 90-lap race starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live television coverage on ABC.

Scott Dixon (#9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, 1st pole of 2012, 18th career IndyCar pole, 2nd Detroit pole; 1st Honda pole of 2012: "Qualifying on the pole here is definitely very important. This is one of the toughest tracks we have in terms of providing passing opportunities, so starting at the front is critical. It's a fun track, but it was crazy out there... crazy. It was a pretty close session, so you had to keep pushing all the way through."



©2018 American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions