Honda Racing Report - Qualifying Report - Milwaukee IndyFest


Circuit: Texas Motor Speedway (1.5-mile oval) Fort Worth, TX
2011 Winner: Will Power (Team Penske Honda) 206.639 mph average [Race 2], Dario Franchitti (Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) 181.649 mph average [Race 1]
Weather: Mostly sunny, warm, 88 degrees F

Top 10 Qualifying Results:

Ps. Driver Team Engine/Chassis Qualifying Speed/Notes  
1.Dario FranchittiTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara168.737
2.Justin WilsonDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara168.287
3.Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportChevrolet Dallara167.911
4.Will PowerTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara167.361
5.Rubens BarrichelloKV Racing TechnologyChevrolet Dallara166.899
6.Helio CastronevesTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara166.763
7.Josef Newgarden-RSarah Fisher HartmanHonda Dallara166.699
8.E.J. VisoKV Racing TechnologyChevrolet Dallara166.066
9.Ryan BriscoeTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara166.031
10.Tony KanaanKV Racing TechnologyChevrolet Dallara165.915
Other Honda-powered Results:
11.Scott DixonTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara165.726
12.Simon Pagenaud-RSchmidt Hamilton RacingHonda Dallara165.369
14.Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganHonda Dallara165.285
17.Graham RahalChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara164.198
18.Alex TaglianiBryan Herta AutosportHonda Dallara163.866
20.James JakesDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara162.020
21.Charlie KimballChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara161.079
25.Mike ConwayA.J. Foyt RacingHonda Dallara159.794

R - IndyCar Series Rookie

Franchitti Repeats Milwaukee Pole Run

Indianapolis 500 champion Dario Franchitti gave Honda its third consecutive pole of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season Friday at The Milwaukee Mile, with a run of 168.737 mph around the flat mile oval, the oldest operating race track in North America. Franchitti will lead the 25-car starting field to the green flag for the second consecutive year at Saturday's Milwaukee IndyFest.

Franchitti won last year's Milwaukee race from the pole, leading a race-high 161 of 225 race laps. He also won here in 2004, and has finished sixth or better in his last six starts at "The Mile". Previous Honda-powered poles this year include Scott Dixon at Detroit; and Alex Tagliani at Texas Motor Speedway.

Justin Wilson posted the second-fastest qualifying run in his Dale Coyne Racing Honda-Dallara. It is his best qualifying effort of 2012, and follows his victory last week in Texas. Josef Newgarden led the rookie field today at Milwaukee, qualifying seventh for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.

Television coverage for Saturday's first short oval race of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series will air on ABC, starting at 1 p.m. EDT.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his 1st pole of 2012 and 27th career IndyCar pole; pole qualifier and race winner here in 2011: "We struggled in both practice sessions. But afterwards we got together with [engineer Chris] Simmons, Scott [Dixon] and the rest of the #9 car guys and came up with [a chassis set-up] that was much better. On my qualifying run, I just kept my foot in it and managed to hang on. I'm really proud of the team and the job they did today, and with my run. With teams this talented and a field this tight, today is a very special pole."



©2018 American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions