Honda Racing Report - Qualifying Report - Iowa Speedway


Circuit: Iowa Speedway (0.89-mile oval) Newton, IA
2011 Winner: Marco Andretti (Andretti Autosport Honda) 118.671 mph average
Weather: Clear, warm, 84 degrees F

Top 10 Qualifying Results:

Ps. Driver Team Engine/Chassis Qualifying Heat Results  
1.Dario FranchittiTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara1st in Heat 3
2.Helio CastronevesTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara2nd in Heat 3
3.Marco AndrettiAndretti AutosportChevrolet Dallara3rd in Heat 3
4.James HinchcliffeAndretti AutosportChevrolet Dallara4th in Heat 3
5.Ryan BriscoeTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara5th in Heat 3
6.Will PowerTeam PenskeChevrolet Dallara6th in Heat 3
7.Ryan Hunter-ReayAndretti AutosportChevrolet Dallara 7th in Heat 3
8.Scott DixonTarget Chip GanassiHonda Dallara8th in Heat 3
9.Tony KanaanKV Racing TechnologyChevrolet Dallara1st in Heat 2
10.Graham RahalChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara1st in Heat 1
Other Honda-powered Results:
11.Alex TaglianiBryan Herta AutosportHonda Dallara2nd in Heat 2
12.Josef Newgarden-RSarah Fisher HartmanHonda Dallara2nd in Heat 1
15.Justin WilsonDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara4th in Heat 2
17.Charlie KimballChip Ganassi RacingHonda Dallara5th in Heat 2
20.Mike ConwayA.J. Foyt RacingHonda Dallara6th in Heat 1
21.James JakesDale Coyne RacingHonda Dallara7th in Heat 2
24.Takuma SatoRahal Letterman LaniganHonda Dallara8th in Heat 1
25.Simon Pagenaud-RSchmidt Hamilton RacingHonda Dallara9th in Heat 2

R - IndyCar Series Rookie

Franchitti Takes Iowa Pole

Indianapolis 500 champion Dario Franchitti gave Honda his second consecutive pole of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season Friday night at Iowa Speedway, and his second short-oval pole in as many weeks, by winning the third of three heat races used to set the grid for Saturday night's Iowa Corn Indy 250.

Franchitti started on the outside of the front row, based on practice times, and moved around early-race leader Marco Andretti with an outside pass exiting Turn 4 on the eighth lap. He led the remaining 22 laps of the 30-lap heat to win by 1.6 seconds over Helio Castroneves. Franchitti has won two of the five IndyCar races previously run in Iowa, including the 2007 debut race and again in 2009.

Honda-powered drivers won two of the three heat races tonight, with Graham Rahal winning the first heat in his Service Central Honda Dallara. Rahal started from the pole and led for the entire distance, with fellow Honda-powered driver Josef Newgarden taking second for Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing.

In the second heat, Alex Tagliani worked his way into an early lead, but was caught and passed by Tony Kanaan on Lap 20. Tagliani held on to finish second in the heat, with Justin Wilson fourth and Charlie Kimball fifth. Television coverage for Saturday night's final short-oval race of the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series will air on the NBC Sports Network, starting at 7:30 p.m. EDT.

Dario Franchitti (#10 Target Chip Ganassi Racing Honda) pole qualifier, his 2nd pole in as many weeks, 2nd short-oval pole and 2nd pole of 2012; his 28th career pole and Honda's 4th pole of 2012: "Yeah, that was good, a nice surprise because our car wasn't perfect in the heat of the day, but was much better this evening. I was able to make an outside pass work on Marco [Andretti] and our car was good on the high line. Tomorrow night is going to be very interesting, I think it's going to be a physical race."



©2018 American Honda Motor Co., Inc.
Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions