• Driver Robin Shute bests all other competitors with a 9m12.476s run
  • HPD-prepared turbocharged Honda K20 engine powers TSC team to fastest overall time

Pikes Peak, CO (June 30, 2019) – Having set  the fastest time previously in qualifying, driver Robin Shute was the first vehicle off the starting line and set an unbeatable time in the 97th running of the Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb. Severe weather affected various parts of the 12.42-mile course that climbs from the start at 9,390 ft. to a 14,115 ft. finish line. Shute’s run of 9m12.476s in his Unlimited class Wolf TSC Honda was the fastest run up the full course, beating the next best time by 11 seconds.


The car, powered by a 650-hp, 2-liter Honda Performance Development K20, made its debut in 2018, but due to weather, was unable to record a full course time. This year, Shute and his teammates known as “The Sendy Club”, along with HPD, worked throughout the week to make sure the all-volunteer effort had the best chance of success. 


In addition to the overall and Unlimited win, Honda power also took the third spot on the Unlimited class podium with the William Au-Yeung entry in his 2012 Honda Civic Si. 


The Honda K20 series of engines have a legendary racing pedigree, including the latest version used in the Civic Type R production car, the Civic Type R TCR race car, and the F3 and F4 open wheel series cars. These crate engines and race-ready TCR race cars are available for North American racing customers through HPD’s Racing Line program. For more information, go to: hpd.honda.com

On a somber note, we at HPD are deeply saddened by the loss of longtime race competitor and champion, Carlin Dunne, during the event. We would like to express our deepest sympathies to his family, friends and fans.


Robin Shute (Driver, #49 Wolf TSC Honda)“It’s hasn’t sunk in yet.  I just enjoyed being up here amongst racers and getting the result at the end of the day.  I feel privileged to continue the winning tradition of the HPD Honda K20 at the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, taking its 4th win this year, and beating prior years’ qualifying times with the same package.”


Aaron Hale (HPD Pikes Peak Project Leader): “It was a joy to work with this team.  After powering world-class driver Romain Dumas to victory 3 times, HPD was eager to continue the success with this team.  This is a group of talented young engineers and enthusiasts working in their spare time, on their own dime, and in their own garage to put together a winning effort. I could not be more proud to be partnered with Robin and The Sendy Club for this year’s victory.”


Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb



1. Robin Shute (9:12.476) 2018 Wolf GB08 Honda

2. Greg Tracy (9:55.011) 2019 Palatov D2EV

3. William Au-Yeung (11:03.988) 2012 Honda Civic


Time Attack 1

1. Raphael Astier (9:23.721) 2017 Porsche 911 GT3 RGT

2. Clint Vahsholtz (9:48.716) 2014 McLaren 650S

3. Tim Hardy (10:02.384) 1987 BMW E30


Pikes Peak Open

1. Peter Cunningham (9:24.433) 2019 Acura TLX GT

2. David Donohue (9:33.404) 2016 Porsche 911

3. Layne Schranz (9:40.630) 2015 Chevrolet SS